Something We Dreamed

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Major League Eating

leave a comment »

Hot Dog Competition

Hot Dog Eating Competition, San Jose CA

Finally, a sport I can get behind with major league enthusiasm: Competitive eating! And I’m proud to be from the same home town (San Jose, California) as world champion Joey Chestnut!

I started thinking about competitive eating earlier today when I dug up this video of a workplace Oreo eating competition at Inside Zappos. (Zappos looks like a fun place to work. I wonder if they’re hiring?)

Of course I had heard about Nathan’s yearly hot dog eating contest and I’ve seen the Big Texan’s 72-ounce steak challenge with my own eyes. As I dug deeper, I found that competitive eating has become such big business that there’s a new Wii game devoted to the subject. There’s even an International Federation of Competitive Eating!

Who knew that eating 17 pounds of cow brains could bring you fame or that a tiny, 105-pound woman can eat 11 pounds of cheesecake in one sitting and live to tell the tale?

As for myself, although I did eat three kinds of ice cream today (Brown Butter Pecan and Salted Caramel at Bi-Rite and Blue Bottle Vietnamese Iced Coffee at Humphry Slocombe), the only competitive eating contest I can image entering (and winning) is Boston’s annual bacon eating extravaganza.

Leave a Reply

