Something We Dreamed

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How to Cook a Wolf

with one comment

Stretching MeatBad boy Bourdain’s rant about expensive foodstuffs got me to thinking about M.F.K. Fisher and her eloquent instructions for war time cooking (see How to Cook a Wolf, copyright 1942).

I may still be employed (for a few days), but I’m already panicking about keeping the wolf at bay (food, as you may have guessed, is never something I leave to chance). Thank goodness I still have bookshelves piled high with the wise words of cooks who have lived through much harder times.

The well-traveled writings of Paddleford and Fisher, especially, are offering up deeper comfort than ever before. Fisher’s descriptions of leisurely lunches in quaint French auberges — which I found so romantically intriguing in the past — have now given way to a fascination with instructions for grinding up cheap meat and whole grain into vitamin-rich pastes.

I hope I’ll never have to buy a bottle of Kitchen Bouquet to color up my own paste concoctions (a la M.F.K).

If need be, I’d rather sell off my cookbook collection.

Tony Bourdain’s Les Halles cookbook would be one of the first to go. I’ve owned the book for years, yet it has never inspired me to cook a single recipe. For nourishment, I much prefer Mr. Bourdain’s serious writing: Typhoid Mary, the story of America’s most infamous cook, is at the top of my all-time-favorites list.

EAT IT UP: Food Buzz You Should Be Reading/Watching Today

Waste Not, Want Not: The Sun Times

Typhoid Mary: Villain or Victim?: Nova

Great Depression Cooking: You Tube

Cooking for Less: OC Register

Written by Kate Blood

May 29, 2009 at 5:23 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] How to Cook a Wolf? Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)FangirlQOTD: Anthony Bourdain on Vegetarians.On one steamy Saturday morning…. […]


Leave a Reply

